As we head to the end of the school year and the ever changing landscape with the Coronavirus, we are making plans to be flexible in working with our community partners and supporting you, our students, in your field sites. We hope the following set of FAQs will be helpful in giving you guidance when on the anticipated impacts to fieldwork. Please revisit this FAQ as it will be updated as necessary.

Who do I contact if my field site closes?

If you are in a cohort based program please contact your program director (see below for list) or if your field placement is associated with a course or independent study contact the course instructor. If you are an ECFS student and in a service learning site, contact your instructor. If you are an ECO student in the Capstone and Internship, contact both Nubia Lopez and Kimberly Mitchell (see below).

Program

Program Director/Lead

email

Elementary Teacher Education

Teddi Beam-Conroy

beamt@uw.edu

Secondary Teacher Education

Anne Beitlers

annes@uw.edu

University Alternative Certificate for Teachers

Megan Kelley-Petersen

meg199@uw.edu

Seattle Teacher Residency

Marisa Bier

marisa@alliance4ed.org

Special Education Teacher Education Program

Selma Powell

selmap@uw.edu

Danforth

Ann O’Doherty

annodoh@uw.edu

Master in Educational Policy

Tom Halverson

thalvers@uw.edu

Leadership in Higher Education

Joe Lott

jlott1@uw.edu

Leadership for Learning

Anthony Craig

acraig@uw.edu

School Psychology

Janine Jones

jjones2@uw.edu

Applied Behavior Analysis

Nancy Rosenberg

nancyr@uw.edu

Intercollegiate Athletic Leadership

Sara Lopez

lopezsl@uw.edu

ECO Capstone

Kimberly Mitchell

Nubia Lopez

klasher@uw.edu

nubial@uw.edu

ELL Endorsement

Brian Tuazel tauzel@uw.edu

 

Reading Endorsement

Dixie Massey ddmassey@uw.edu

 

What do I do if my field site closes down for a day or even weeks?

Follow the lead of the site (i.e., community organization or school). If they close, stay home and contact your Program Director or course instructor.

What if my child is home because their school/afterschool site is closed but my field site (i.e., school/organization) is not?

Ensure your family has appropriate child care, which may include you staying home to care for your family. Contact your Program Director or course instructor to let them know your situation. They will work with you to determine next steps.

What if my child is home because they are sick but my school/organization is not closed?

Ensure your family has appropriate child care, which may include you staying home to care for your family. Contact your Program Director or course instructor to let them know your situation. They will work with you to determine next steps.

What do I do if the site where I am collecting data for my edTPA, research project, dissertation or other summative assessment has closed?

Follow the lead of the site. If they close, stay home and contact your course instructor, Program Director or graduate adviser. We are aware that many of you have summative assessments (i.e., EdTPA, master exams, defenses) coming up in the spring, and we are actively monitoring the availability of field sites. Program Directors and graduate advisors will be able to give you guidance once you contact them regarding your site's closure.

What do I do if I feel sick, or believe I may have been exposed to someone who has the coronavirus?

Follow the directions posted on the UW coronavirus website and alert your program director.